Raymarine forum

Full Version: EV-1 location
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2
I am looking for some help in deciding where to locate my EV-1 sensor. I have a Scout Abaco 262 and I am having difficulty identifying a location that will work. First - there is no place that is three feet away from all potential sources of interference. I am not an expert so I don’t know the trade-offs of being further away from center or the waterline.

Here are the choices I am debating -

Inside the head behind a panel about 12” off the center of the boat and close to the waterline. The issue here is that it is 12” away from the toilet macerator which contains an electrical motor. The other water pumps are about 20” away and below it . The big advantage here is that it is totally hidden and convenient to wire as it will be on the same plane as the controller and ACU.

In the center compartment against the back wall. The advantage with this location is that it is very close to the middle of the boat and centered. However mounted right in front of it on the other side of the fiberglass is the ProNautic 12.50 battery charge which may create issues even though it won’t be running when the boat is underway. All other water pumps will be 20” away.

The third option is in the storage compartment under the bunk in the cabin. It is near the middle of the boat (slightly fore) and can be centered near the waterline. The big question here is that it would share the space with the AC unit. That being said, the compressor motor is 30” away and the control box for the AC is 16” to the left.