Raymarine forum

Full Version: [CA11] Uncommanded System Reboot - Axiom Pro
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2
Since installing my new Axiom Pro 12 a month ago, I've sailed from Marco Island to the central Exumas and have had an overall good experience. I am still learning every day.

I have come across a serious and abiding problem I want to share with you: Uncommanded System Reboots.

First let me add that all of Onward's navigation devices are on individual circuit breaker protected sub-circuits that are all protected with a Navpac Navigation Power Controller which stabilizes voltage and filters out spikes.

Note, all component of my navigation system were updated to the most recent software on 21 February 2019 -- including LH 3.8.97

I have been logging my experiences (listed most recent first):

The most recent incident was very scary as the USR did not result in usable display for navigation for > 5 min as there was no GPS or AIS.

The thought of this kind of event happening as I am navigating through narrow and rocky passages in the fogs of Maine really gives me cold sweats. The only good thing is that the Axiom (doesn't / can't) control the SPX30 autopilot which at least continues during the recover from the USR. What is going on?

10 Mar 19; 1330
• While inspecting the AIS data for vessels nearby, a USR occurred. Thankfully Onward was at anchor as the unit rebooted but would not display GPS or AIS information for >5min. I had to shut down (power off) and then restart Axiom to get a “normal” start. Very dangerous if this had occurred while underway.

10 Mar 19; 1130
• While attempting to move the cursor with the uni-controller to look at at a vessel’s AIS, a USR occurred.

2 Mar 19; 1100
• While reviewing routes to change colors and hide them, a USR occurred.