Raymarine forum
[CA] [CA11] EV-100 on a powerboat? - Printable Version

+- Raymarine forum (http://forum.raymarine.com)
+-- Forum: Raymarine Forums (/forumdisplay.php?fid=1)
+--- Forum: Autopilots (/forumdisplay.php?fid=23)
+--- Thread: [CA] [CA11] EV-100 on a powerboat? (/showthread.php?tid=6854)

[CA11] EV-100 on a powerboat? - aequitas1916 - 10-29-18 08:16 PM

Hello everyone,

I've got myself in a bit of a jam, and I'm hoping someone can tell me all is not lost.

As a background, I'm relatively new to boat ownership (2 years), and I have 0 experience with autopilots. I had purchased a 32' Trojan for fishing on Lake Michigan. I now have a 34' Sea Ray.

Last year, I spent some time doing research on autopilots to try to find something that would work on my boat. I was looking for something that would just be able to hold a steady course, which would allow me to step away from the helm for a minute to help my buddy with rigging or maybe even reel a fish in. I'm not necessarily looking for something that can follow a pre-programmed course or anything (although that would be nice). Some have suggested that tying down the helm wheel would perform the same function, but in my experience I've had to be at the helm constantly to maintain a course. I had seen another old boat with some type of wheel autopilot, so I figured the EV-100 Wheel might work. Although I knew the EV-100 Wheel was designed for sailboats, I didn't see why this might not work for a power boat. Something I read at the time must have made me think it would, so I ordered one.