Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
[CA11] Updating ST6000 Autopilot
11-26-19, 04:24 PM (This post was last modified: 11-26-19 04:43 PM by Chuck - Raymarine - Moderator.)
Post: #1
[CA11] Updating ST6000 Autopilot
I am going to update my ST 6000 autopilot Control/Display unit with a new P70R Control/Display head. Will it be compatible with my older SmartPilot S2 Course Computer? Please advise.

FARALLON
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
11-26-19, 04:46 PM
Post: #2
RE: [CA11] Updating ST6000 Autopilot
Welcome to the Raymarine Forum FARALLON,

Q. Will it be compatible with my older SmartPilot S2 Course Computer?
A. Indeed it will. Please click here to view a FAQ addressing this subject.
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
11-27-19, 08:56 AM (This post was last modified: 11-27-19 11:45 AM by Chuck - Raymarine - Moderator.)
Post: #3
RE: [CA11] Updating ST6000 Autopilot
Thanks for the information. My autopilot stands alone. The current SeaTalk cable is about 12 feet long, split and terminated at the Course Computer, and has a three part plug at the Control Head end. How will the new SeaTalking cable have to be connected.
Thanks
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
11-27-19, 11:48 AM
Post: #4
RE: [CA11] Updating ST6000 Autopilot
FARALLON,

The currently installed SeaTalk Cable will be unplugged from the autopilot control head and will instead be plugged into a D244 SeaTalk Junction Block. An A06047 / 15.7in (0.4m) SeaTalkng To SeaTalk Adapter Cable will then be used to connect the p70R Autopilot Control Head to the D244 SeaTalk Junction Block.
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-02-19, 03:14 PM
Post: #5
RE: [CA11] Updating ST6000 Autopilot
Hello, Happy Holidays,

I have installed a new Raymarine P70s Control panel with a SeaTalk Junction Block. After I powered it up it give me a error message: "NO PILOT". What does this mean and how can it be rectified? Please advise
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-02-19, 03:52 PM (This post was last modified: 12-02-19 03:53 PM by Chuck - Raymarine - Moderator.)
Post: #6
RE: [CA11] Updating ST6000 Autopilot
FARALLON,

To you as well. As a test, it is recommended that the ST6000 autopilot control head once again be interfaced to the autopilot course computer. After verifying that is working properly with the autopilot course computer, then remove the A06047 SeaTalkng To SeaTalk Adapter Cable from the D244 SeaTalk Junction Block and instead connect it to the ST6000 autopilot control head's second SeaTalk socket. Does the autopilot control head continue to report no pilot? If so, please specify which the version number of the software installed within the autopilot's control head.
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-02-19, 04:33 PM
Post: #7
RE: [CA11] Updating ST6000 Autopilot
OK, thanks, I have connected the new P70s Control head in every possible configuration. The old ST6000 control head was removed due to it's having a black film covering the face, which made it unreadable. It is not usable any longer. How would I find out the version number of the software? Please advise.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-02-19, 05:47 PM
Post: #8
RE: [CA11] Updating ST6000 Autopilot
FARALLON,

The reported symptom may also be indicative of a failure within the autopilot course computer's SeaTalk communications circuitry or the p70S autopilot control head's communications circuitry ... hence the reason to test the autopilot course computer with the old control head. The command sequence to determine the control head's software level is MENU->SET-UP->DIAGNOSTICS->ABOUT PILOT. If found to be v3.09 (the latest), then I can only recommend that the p70S autopilot control head be tested with a compatible SeaTalk device (ex. ST60 Wind, ST60 Depth, compatible autopilot course computer, or a powered i50/i60 instrument).
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-03-19, 08:38 AM
Post: #9
RE: [CA11] Updating ST6000 Autopilot
Finding the soft ware version is problematic due to I can't get past the "NO PILOT" page. I will check the new p70s control head on a different course computer. So, if the p70s checks out, then the problem is with the course computer?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-03-19, 12:08 PM
Post: #10
RE: [CA11] Updating ST6000 Autopilot
FARALLON,

Q. if the p70s checks out, then the problem is with the course computer?
A. Yes.
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)

Contact Us