Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
[CA11] No GPS signal from AIS 700 and Vhf 55E
12-13-19, 03:14 PM (This post was last modified: 12-13-19 04:10 PM by Chuck - Raymarine - Moderator.)
Post: #1
[CA11] No GPS signal from AIS 700 and Vhf 55E
My system:
Ev1, Acu 400, Ais 700, connected, with their spur cables, to backbone line in the inner of the boat.
Outside the backbone cable, trought a covertitor st1/stng is connected to an Axiom 9", an I70 s and wind+tridata old St6000 model.
System just installed and all system software (V 3.11.42 Cannes) updatet yesterday ( olso last version Ais 700 software 01.09.00 included)
The ais in connected to vhf Ray 700 by nmea 183 low cables:
Purple(LOOUT+) to grey of vhf
Pink(LOOUT–)to purple of vhf
My position, name an MMSi are corrected received from other stations, but
I still not have gps position on vhf/dsc monitor.
Can you help me to solve?
Many tanks,
Angelo
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-13-19, 04:19 PM
Post: #2
RE: [CA11] No GPS signal from AIS 700 and Vhf 55E
Welcome to the Raymarine Forum kavok,

Like the Raymarine Class B AIS transceivers which preceded it, the AIS700 is not designed to function as a SeaTalkng/NMEA 2000 to NMEA 0183 data bridging device. Accordingly, should the AIS700 only be interfaced to the system's SeaTalkng/NMEA2000 backbone, then it will not transmit system data via the AIS700's 4800 BAUD NMEA 0183 output port. Please click here to view a FAQ addressing how 4800 BAUD NMEA 0183 GPS data may be supplied to your VHF radio from your system. As indicated therein, the SeaTalk to SeaTalkng Converter of the E70196 VHF NMEA 0183 to STng Converter Kit will be installed within the backbone and the ST-STng Converter's yellow port will supply 4800 BAUD NMEA 0183 GPS data to the VHF radio.
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-13-19, 06:08 PM (This post was last modified: 12-15-19 09:29 AM by Chuck - Raymarine - Moderator.)
Post: #3
RE: [CA11] No GPS signal from AIS 700 and Vhf 55E
Tank you, Chuck, for the welcome ad the technical answer.
I read your answer and the FAQ you told me.
I think I should do this:
Mount an E70196,
To a blue end connect the esisting backbone , to the other blue end connect another small backbone .
To the yellow end connect the supplid st1 wire for nmea183 gps input to vhf Ray 55E (red to gray and yellow to purple.)
Put two white plug on the two white end.

The Gps input go to VHF from internal Axiom Gps. The signal is converted from nmea 2000 to nmea 185 by the converter.

I understood well?
I ask you pardon but English is not my language and I also am not elecrtic/elecronic expert.
I mounted the system by myself, only this error......
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-15-19, 09:31 AM (This post was last modified: 12-17-19 03:46 PM by Chuck - Raymarine - Moderator.)
Post: #4
RE: [CA11] No GPS signal from AIS 700 and Vhf 55E
Angelo,

Q1. I think I should do this:
Mount an E70196,
To a blue end connect the esisting backbone , to the other blue end connect another small backbone .
To the yellow end connect the supplid st1 wire for nmea183 gps input to vhf Ray 55E (red to gray and yellow to purple.)
Put two white plug on the two white end.
A1. Correct.

Q2. The Gps input go to VHF from internal Axiom Gps. The signal is converted from nmea 2000 to nmea 185 by the converter.
A2. Correct
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-17-19, 01:48 PM
Post: #5
RE: [CA11] No GPS signal from AIS 700 and Vhf 55E
Tank you Chuck for your answer.
I am thinking to another solution.
I just have a converter st/stng.
In the yellow end is wired an ST 6000 Tridata
( that is connected via st1 cable to an St 60 Wind)
In the white ends the St70s and Axiom spur cables.
In the blue ends a cap and the backbone cable.
I still have st1 cable unused.
Could I connect the VHF in port, nmea 183 cables grey and purple, to st1 cable wired to St 60 Wind, to bring GPS position from the network to VHF?
Many tanks,
Angelo
italy
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-17-19, 03:46 PM (This post was last modified: 12-17-19 03:46 PM by Chuck - Raymarine - Moderator.)
Post: #6
RE: [CA11] No GPS signal from AIS 700 and Vhf 55E
Angelo,

Q. Could I connect the VHF in port, nmea 183 cables grey and purple, to st1 cable wired to St 60 Wind, to bring GPS position from the network to VHF?
A. Negative. Please refer to the earlier solution provided within this thread.
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-17-19, 04:45 PM (This post was last modified: 12-18-19 10:39 AM by Chuck - Raymarine - Moderator.)
Post: #7
RE: [CA11] No GPS signal from AIS 700 and Vhf 55E
Many tanks, I'll refer to the esrlier solution.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-18-19, 10:39 AM
Post: #8
RE: [CA11] No GPS signal from AIS 700 and Vhf 55E
You're welcome.
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 2 Guest(s)

Contact Us