Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
[CA11] P79 use on es127
02-12-19, 02:03 PM (This post was last modified: 02-12-19 02:30 PM by Chuck - Raymarine - Moderator.)
Post: #1
[CA11] P79 use on es127
My new (1 year) to me boat, with new electronics added by the PO, looses the depth signal on two transducers when on a plane. This system has an ES 127 and ES 128 and i70 with the ES 127 set as master. Rather than drill another [censored] in the hull I would like to know if I could use a P79 183 nmea smart transducer on this system as a back up when the system goes blank. Will I need a 183 to 2000 switch?

Thank You
Dave
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
02-12-19, 02:42 PM
Post: #2
RE: [CA11] P79 use on es127
Welcome to the Raymarine Forum Dave,

The Fishfinder application pages/panes will always report the depth reported by the selected fishfinder channel. However, within Raymarine MFDs running LigthHouse II v19.03 software and within Rayamrine's current line of instruments and autopilot control heads featuring a SeaTalkng/NMEA 2000 communications interface (ex. i70/i70S MFIDs, i50 Depth, i50 Tridata), the MFD's Data Sources feature is used to identify which of the systems depth data sources will be used by the instruments, autopilot control head, and the MFD's Databoxes, Databar, and Data application. In this case, it would be recommended that the T70278 NMEA 2000 P79 be used for the stated purpose. You need only add a spur socket to the backbone should an unoccupied socket not be available within the backbone.

After doing so, the Data Master MFD's Data Sources feature would simply be used to specify that the NMEA 2000 P79 will be used as the system's data source for Depth.
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
02-13-19, 01:42 PM (This post was last modified: 02-13-19 01:58 PM by Chuck - Raymarine - Moderator.)
Post: #3
RE: [CA11] P79 use on es127
Thanks for the info but the P79 transducer I have is a nmea 183. Will it work on the 2000 backbone or will it need a switch?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
02-13-19, 02:04 PM
Post: #4
RE: [CA11] P79 use on es127
Dave,

Q. The P79 transducer I have is a nmea 183. Will it work on the 2000 backbone or will it need a switch?
A. It would be necessary to interface the NMEA 0183 output leads of a NMEA 0183 Smart Transducer to the NMEA 0183 input leads of the Power/NMEA 0183/Video Input Cable of either one of the MFDs. Alternatively,, the NMEA 0183 output leads of a NMEA 0183 Smart Transducer to the NMEA 0183 input leads of a NMEA 0183 to NMEA 2000 data bridging device (ex. Actisense NGW-1-ISO), which in turn may be interfaced to a spur socket within the system's SeaTalkng / NMEA 2000 backbone. The latter option would provide depth data to the system, irrespective of the power state of the MFDs. In either solution, the NMEA 0183 Smart Transducer must be powered from a switched power circuit per the transducer manufacturer's instructions.
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)

Contact Us