Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
[CA11] Radone vs. Magnum
02-24-19, 08:19 AM (This post was last modified: 02-24-19 08:26 AM by Chuck - Raymarine - Moderator.)
Post: #1
[CA11] Radone vs. Magnum
Will the Magnum open array have the same technology as the Quantum2 Doppler radar as far as displaying targets moving away or towards you in green or red targets.
Use the boat primarily for fishing, but there are times we comeback in total darkness and this function would come in handy.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
02-25-19, 01:40 PM
Post: #2
RE: [CA11] Radone vs. Magnum
Welcome back to the Raymarine Forum Fish On,

The feature which you have described is only supported by MFDs running LightHouse 3 software which have been interfaced to a Quantum II radome. Most offshore fishermen will opt for an open array radar transducer or a HD radome to permit the system to spot birds, which indicate the presence of bait fish, which in turn indicate the presence of larger fish.
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
02-25-19, 03:24 PM (This post was last modified: 02-25-19 03:56 PM by Chuck - Raymarine - Moderator.)
Post: #3
RE: [CA11] Radone vs. Magnum
So Does the open array Magnum 4' radar do the same as the quantom 2 Doppler radar where the dangerous targets moving towards you turn red, and targets moving away from you turn green. Or do I need 1 magnum, and 1 Doppler to have this feature.
Or, will the magnum eventually have this feature thru software upgrading in the near future.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
02-25-19, 03:56 PM
Post: #4
RE: [CA11] Radone vs. Magnum
Fish On,

Q1. So Does the open array Magnum 4' radar do the same as the quantom 2 Doppler radar where the dangerous targets moving towards you turn red, and targets moving away from you turn green.
A1. Per my initial response ... Negative. This feature is only supported when the MFD has been interfaced to a Quantum 2 radome.

Q2. Or do I need 1 magnum, and 1 Doppler to have this feature.
A2. It is certainly possible to interface the MFD to more than one radar transducer. However, the Doppler Radar feature which you are referencing will only be visible if the Quantum II radome has been selected as the radar source for the Radar application page/pane being viewed.

Q3. Or, will the magnum eventually have this feature thru software upgrading in the near future.
A3. Raymarine has issued no communications regarding whether Doppler radar features will ever be available in conjunction with a Magnum radar alone.
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)

Contact Us