Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
[DG11] Axiom Pro mods show own boat as target
03-02-19, 05:19 PM (This post was last modified: 03-04-19 11:27 AM by Derek - Raymarine - Moderator.)
Post: #1
[DG11] Axiom Pro mods show own boat as target
We have two Axiom Pro MFDs and since applying a recent software update we now see our own boat as an AIS target which never happened previously. Our AIS transponder is a Vesper Marine 8000 and we have made no changes to that recently. The transponder is connected over the nmea2000 network.

Please advise as to how to stop it showing as sometimes it even alarms as a dangerous target which is very irritating.

Thanks.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
03-04-19, 11:31 AM
Post: #2
RE: [DG11] Axiom Pro mods show own boat as target
Hi Derekbreth,

Thankyou for your enquiry.

This general issue is related to the VESPER 8000, it should be filtering out the vessel's own ship details. As to why is has started to happen since the update to the AXIOM is unclear.

You could try carrying out a full factory reset on the AXIOM, however, the issue is more likely associated with the AIS receiver itself.

Has the boat location changed? the issue can also be triggered by the proximity the AIS repeater stations which are usually landbased.

regards
Derek
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
03-06-19, 07:00 AM (This post was last modified: 03-06-19 10:42 AM by Chuck - Raymarine - Moderator.)
Post: #3
RE: [DG11] Axiom Pro mods show own boat as target
Thanks for the response. Yes the location has changed since we are circumnavigating so it’s continually changing!

I will try the factory reset option.

Regards

Derek
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
03-06-19, 11:53 AM
Post: #4
RE: [DG11] Axiom Pro mods show own boat as target
Hi Derek

One other thought is if there is an NMEA loop in the data side of your network and this is fooling the system into receiving its own transmisison. Is there an option in the set up of the Vespa to ignore own transmisison?

Thanks
Derek
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)

Contact Us