Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
[CA11] Axiom Pro - Lack of Range Buttons
03-11-19, 03:28 PM (This post was last modified: 03-12-19 09:47 AM by Chuck - Raymarine - Moderator.)
Post: #1
[CA11] Axiom Pro - Lack of Range Buttons
We operate with the touch screen locked out. The lack of hard range + - buttons prevents the radar operator from ranging + - while the VRM/EBL is active. To change the range it is necessary to deactivate or freeze the VRM/EBL, change the range, then reactivate the VRM/EBL. To reactivate the VRM/EBL requires 6 separate button or rotary dial actions.

Would it be possible to provide an option for the user programmable button to activate the number 1 VRM/EBL with a single press?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
03-12-19, 09:52 AM
Post: #2
RE: [CA11] Axiom Pro - Lack of Range Buttons
Welcome to the Raymarine Forum Level,

Thanks for the product feedback. A feature request will be logged accordingly to consider this feature for inclusion within a future LightHouse 3 software update. As I am certain that you are aware, should the touchscreen have not been locked, then it would be possible to adjust the radar range under these conditions via the + and - onscreen range buttons. Alternatively, a RMK-9 or RMK-10 may be added to the system, as these remote keyboards feature + and - range buttons.

Please click here more information concerning product and feature suggestions.
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
03-15-19, 01:51 PM (This post was last modified: 03-15-19 02:38 PM by Chuck - Raymarine - Moderator.)
Post: #3
RE: [CA11] Axiom Pro - Lack of Range Buttons
We find it necessary to lock out the touchscreen on our fast rescue craft for several reasons - water spray activating the screen, cold fingers not activating the screen and the difficulty of accurately using touch during rough conditions. We were disappointed to find that the hard range + - buttons had been omitted from the Axiom Pro, however the suggested use of the user programmable button would help to give us a workaround. Perhaps a long press could activate the #1 VRM/EBL and the existing options could remain as they are.

Can you confirm that adding the RMK-10 will allow range adjustment without deactivating the VRM/EBL?

Thanks!
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
03-15-19, 02:39 PM
Post: #4
RE: [CA11] Axiom Pro - Lack of Range Buttons
Type 1,

Q. Can you confirm that adding the RMK-10 will allow range adjustment without deactivating the VRM/EBL?
A. Before sending out my initial response which had suggested this workaround, I had verified that it did indeed permit radar range adjustment without deactivating the VRM/EBL.
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
03-17-19, 02:33 PM (This post was last modified: 03-18-19 08:28 AM by Chuck - Raymarine - Moderator.)
Post: #5
RE: [CA11] Axiom Pro - Lack of Range Buttons
Chuck, further to the RMK-10 option which we are now considering. One other issue we have with the new Axiom Pro units is that when we dim the screens at night the back-lighting on the buttons also dims and the buttons become impossible to see. Would the buttons on the RMK-10 remain backlit if we dim the screens?

Thanks.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
03-18-19, 08:30 AM (This post was last modified: 03-18-19 08:31 AM by Chuck - Raymarine - Moderator.)
Post: #6
RE: [CA11] Axiom Pro - Lack of Range Buttons
Type1,

The RMK-9/10 Remote Keypad button dimming feature should be expected to function identically to that of the MFD to which it has been interfaced.
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
03-18-19, 11:21 AM (This post was last modified: 03-18-19 05:06 PM by Chuck - Raymarine - Moderator.)
Post: #7
RE: [CA11] Axiom Pro - Lack of Range Buttons
Thanks. In that case please log a feature suggestion that the buttons on the Axiom Pro and RMK-10 don't dim fully but maintain some minimum level of lighting.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
03-18-19, 05:07 PM
Post: #8
RE: [CA11] Axiom Pro - Lack of Range Buttons
Noted.
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)

Contact Us