Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
[CA11] Axiom Pro Loran Coordinates Display on Screen
03-12-19, 03:52 AM (This post was last modified: 03-12-19 08:35 AM by Chuck - Raymarine - Moderator.)
Post: #1
[CA11] Axiom Pro Loran Coordinates Display on Screen
How can you display loran coordinates on Raymarine Axiom Pro, and go to with autopilot. Other vessels in Fishing Club have loran, and use loran. Is this function available on Raymarine Axiom Pro. Thanks
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
03-12-19, 08:55 AM (This post was last modified: 03-12-19 09:05 AM by Chuck - Raymarine - Moderator.)
Post: #2
RE: [CA11] Axiom Pro Loran Coordinates Display on Screen
Fish On,

For the purpose of accuracy in describing this issue, in 2010, after the US Coast Guard declared that LORAN was no longer required, the US and Canada shut down their Loran-C beacons. Accordingly, any current use of navigation products supporting LORAN TDs are not using a LORAN receiver to determine the vessel's position. All currently operation navigation systems determine a vessel's position based upon satellite positioning systems (GPS, GLONASS, Galileo, etc.). Raymarine's LightHouse 3 MFDs running LightHouse 3 v3.8.105 and later software support creating waypoints using LORAN TDs. These LORAN TDs are then converted by the MFD to lat/lon coordinates. MFDs running LightHouse 3 software will only support displaying coordinates in lat/lon format. Accordingly, should one of the Fishing Club's vessel's supply waypoint coordinates in LORAN TDs, then one may simply create a waypoint using these LORAN TDs to then support navigation to that location.

For those seeking the convert larger numbers of waypoints whose locations have been recorded using LORAN TDs, it is recommended that Andren SeaMarksĀ® be used to create a GPX file(s) from these LORAN TDs. The resulting GPX file(s) may then be imported into the MFD's memory.
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
03-12-19, 12:32 PM (This post was last modified: 03-12-19 01:09 PM by Chuck - Raymarine - Moderator.)
Post: #3
RE: [CA11] Axiom Pro Loran Coordinates Display on Screen
Thanks chuck!! Other fishing vessels with new brand mfd's also have been using loran coordinates to call other vessels on VHF to alert others vessels in the area with loran. (Hot tuna bite, fishing blitz, or Secret fishing spots.) Nice 2 be 1 step ahead of the game with Raymarine! !! Hopefully Raymarine continues listening to consumers that back up Raymarine products, and put our electronics on top!!
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
03-12-19, 01:09 PM
Post: #4
RE: [CA11] Axiom Pro Loran Coordinates Display on Screen
You're welcome.
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)

Contact Us