Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
[DG11] AIS 700
03-25-19, 12:21 PM (This post was last modified: 03-26-19 10:11 AM by Chuck - Raymarine - Moderator.)
Post: #1
[DG11] AIS 700
Subject AIS 700. ( new april 2018 ) with AC antenna of 2,8 m high above the boat
My AIS 700 has always worked perfectly, now suddenly I can only receive stations at a distance of +/- 1 nm where it used to be up to +/- 15 nm. The transmission of my position appears to work well and the VHF connected to the same antenna also works well, when I connect the AIS 700 to my PC via ProAIS2 the antenna appears to be OK, but I see that there are only about twenty signals inside come from stations up to +/- 1 nm, where it used to be much more stations up to +/- 15 nm
What can be the problem
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
03-26-19, 10:33 AM
Post: #2
RE: [DG11] AIS 700
Hi Marc,
Thank you for your enquiry.

Please check the VSWR in the PRO AIS2 diagnostics, ideally it should be about 1.5:1, if it is higher, then check the antenna cable connections, a poor connection can dramatically reduce the range of the transmission.

Try an alternative antenna if possible to check if there are any issues, bear in mind whilst the antenna may work fine with vhf, it may not by efficient with the AIS700 and so if there are deteriorating connections in the cable to the antenna, then this will impact the range.

Regards
Derek
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
03-27-19, 05:43 AM (This post was last modified: 03-27-19 08:48 AM by Derek - Raymarine - Moderator.)
Post: #3
RE: [DG11] AIS 700
Hi Derek

The VSWR is 1,6/1 see picture in attachment

Regards

Marc


Attached File(s) Thumbnail(s)
   
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
03-27-19, 08:58 AM
Post: #4
RE: [DG11] AIS 700
Hi Marc,

OK i see the VSWR, 1.6:1 should be OK, have you tried an alternative antenna?

Are the targets static or moving? The fact that PRO AIS2 also shows the same range in the AIS700 direct would suggest that if all else checks out Ok, the there is likely an issue with the AIS700 itself. Can you get a local dealer to check the antenna with a VSWR meter to double check what PRO AIS is reporting?

Other than the above, it looks like an issue with the AIS700 itself.


Thanks
Derek
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
03-27-19, 11:56 AM (This post was last modified: 03-27-19 12:19 PM by Chuck - Raymarine - Moderator.)
Post: #5
RE: [DG11] AIS 700
Hallo Derek
Raymarine dealer is coming next week. I do not know if he has a VSWR meter

Best regards
Marc
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
03-28-19, 04:33 AM
Post: #6
RE: [DG11] AIS 700
H iMarc,

I will check with Paul to see if he has a meter to bring along
Thanks
Derek
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
04-08-19, 04:02 AM (This post was last modified: 04-08-19 07:39 AM by Chuck - Raymarine - Moderator.)
Post: #7
RE: [DG11] AIS 700
Hi Derek,

Paul has replaced the existing AIS 700 with a new one and everything is OK now

Regards

Marc
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
04-08-19, 10:16 AM
Post: #8
RE: [DG11] AIS 700
Hi Marc,
Good feedback, thank you

Derek
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)

Contact Us