Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
[CA11] Quantum — Quantum 2
07-31-19, 08:21 AM
Post: #41
RE: [CA11] Quantum — Quantum 2
Ed,

While the Wi-Fi channel used by the MFD for communicating with WiFi access points may be changed, the same is not so for the Quantum/Quantum 2 radomes. Currently, these radomes will exclusively utilize a single fixed channel (I believe it is channel 11) for WiFi communications and this cannot be changed by the user. Raymarine is currently considering a change to the software within the Quantum/Quantum 2 radomes which would use other channels if unable to use the default channel.
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
07-31-19, 09:17 AM (This post was last modified: 07-31-19 09:35 AM by Chuck - Raymarine - Moderator.)
Post: #42
RE: [CA11] Quantum — Quantum 2
Hi Chuck based on an earlier reply in this thread where you noted that there are 2 wi-fi receivers and transmitter one for WiFi and one for the wired adapter thus from your reply today both those are a fixed channel possibly 11 and it’s the same for both and at this time it cannot be changed correct?
The WiFi on the Axiom for communicating with other access points as the web, an IPad etc can be changed correct?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
07-31-19, 09:36 AM
Post: #43
RE: [CA11] Quantum — Quantum 2
Ed,

Q1. ased on an earlier reply in this thread where you noted that there are 2 wi-fi receivers and transmitter one for WiFi and one for the wired adapter thus from your reply today both those are a fixed channel possibly 11 and it’s the same for both and at this time it cannot be changed correct?
A1. Correct.

Q2. The WiFi on the Axiom for communicating with other access points as the web, an IPad etc can be changed correct?
A2. Correct.
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
08-06-19, 06:31 AM
Post: #44
RE: [CA11] Quantum — Quantum 2
Hi Chuck update
Went out last weekend Athens Radar still connected via WiFi. Traveled about 2.5 hrs to another marina radar worked fine all the way to the slip. Returned next day to home port same radar worked fine all way to our slip.
Thus previously when radar was hard wired it would consistently get disconnected whenever we would enter a harbor. This happened with the Axiom and with my ES7, it also happened with a loner Quantum 2. Also on these times when radar got disconnected once I was able to reconnect maybe 15 to 25 min. The radar would work fine at the dock.

I do not think it is Raynet cable itself or it’s routing as once reconnect to radar it continues to work. I am thinking it has something to do with wired WiFi adapter that gets confused after it is exposed to external WiFi signals as when enter harbor but once it’s connected in the surroundings of these signals it seems that it can function. Whereas the standalone WiFi connection seems to tolerate entering a harbor with the exposure to other WiFi signals .
Your thoughts
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
08-06-19, 07:45 AM
Post: #45
RE: [CA11] Quantum — Quantum 2
Ed,

Q. I am thinking it has something to do with wired WiFi adapter that gets confused after it is exposed to external WiFi signals as when enter harbor but once it’s connected in the surroundings of these signals it seems that it can function. Whereas the standalone WiFi connection seems to tolerate entering a harbor with the exposure to other WiFi signals.
A. I would have to concur with your findings and it would be recommended that continued use of the Quantum 2 radome be via a Wi-Fi connection to the MFD until such time as Raymarine may implement a change to the software within the Quantum/Quantum 2 radomes which would use other channels if unable to use the default channel for the Quantum wired adapter..
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)

Contact Us