Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
[CA11] How to get my new Yamaha F70 outboard rpm. etc. engine data to Axiom 9" MFD?
07-23-19, 01:35 PM (This post was last modified: 07-29-19 02:18 PM by Chuck - Raymarine - Moderator.)
Post: #1
[CA11] How to get my new Yamaha F70 outboard rpm. etc. engine data to Axiom 9" MFD?
Hi, I finally upgraded my 1982 Johnson 90 hp outboard to a new Yamaha 70 hp outboard. I am looking to use my engine data app in my Raymarine Axiom MFD.

I think I need 2 things to get it working:(1) Lowrance Yamaha engine interface cable (2) NEMA2000 starter kit to hook up my F70 motor to Axiom MFD.

Do I really need the old technology component of ECI-100? I thought this is for old mfd

http://www.youtube.com/njfishing1 - from Captain Steve
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
07-29-19, 02:28 PM
Post: #2
RE: [CA11] How to get my new Yamaha F70 outboard rpm. etc. engine data to Axiom 9"...
Welcome to the Raymarine Forum Ray18,

Engines should not be interfaced to marine electronics in the manner which you have suggested. An engine gateway should be used. Please click here to view a FAQ addressing this subject. The ECI-100 is one such engine gateway which supports integration with Yamaha engines. When operating with LightHouse 3 v3.10.39 or later software, compatible Yamaha Command Link or Command Link Pro network is connected to the MFD via a Yamaha NMEA 2000 gateway (6YG-8A2D0-00-00) or CL7 Gauge may be installed to support use of the LightHouse 3 Yamaha app. More information on this app may be found within Chapter 13: Yamaha app of the LightHouse 3.10 Advanced Operation Instructions
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
08-08-19, 09:26 AM
Post: #3
RE: [CA11] How to get my new Yamaha F70 outboard rpm. etc. engine data to Axiom 9"...
OK THANKS.

So i only need either ECI-100 gateway or Yamaha Gateway box 6YG-8A2D0-00-00 to make my Axiom 9" MFD to display my 2019 Yamaha F70 hp engine data work, but not both gateways?

I do have installed Raymarine Lighthouse 3.10 so can open the Yamaha app to provision F70 engine data.

http://www.youtube.com/njfishing1 - from Captain Steve
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
08-08-19, 12:34 PM (This post was last modified: 08-08-19 12:36 PM by Chuck - Raymarine - Moderator.)
Post: #4
RE: [CA11] How to get my new Yamaha F70 outboard rpm. etc. engine data to Axiom 9"...
ray18,

Q. So i only need either ECI-100 gateway or Yamaha Gateway box 6YG-8A2D0-00-00 to make my Axiom 9" MFD to display my 2019 Yamaha F70 hp engine data work, but not both gateways?
A. Correct. However, should you desire to use the Yamaha app referenced above, then a Yamaha NMEA 2000 gateway (6YG-8A2D0-00-00) or CL7 Gauge would be required.
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
08-09-19, 09:31 AM
Post: #5
RE: [CA11] How to get my new Yamaha F70 outboard rpm. etc. engine data to Axiom 9"...
ok i drew a diagram to use ECI-100 to read my new 2019 Yamaha F70 engine data from my Axiom 9" MFD which has a NEMA2000 female port.
These are the parts I plan to buy, but I don't know what to buy to connect SeaTalkng A06040 spur cable to Axiom 9" MFD? I was thinking buying A06046 to connect to Axiom 9" MFD but unsure whether A06046 can connect to A06040?

1. Yamaha Bus pigtail cable.
2. Yamaha Command Link hub.
3. Raymarine Yamaha command link (plus) cable.
4. Raymairne ECI-100 with E70227 cable.
5. Raymarine SeaTalkng starter kit.
6. Raymarine A06046?

Please see my diagram - using Raymarine ECI-100 to display Yamaha F70 engine data on a Raymarine Axiom 9" MFD.

http://www.youtube.com/njfishing1 - from Captain Steve
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
08-19-19, 12:40 PM
Post: #6
RE: [CA11] How to get my new Yamaha F70 outboard rpm. etc. engine data to Axiom 9"...
ray18,

You're diagram and parts list appear to be correct on the Raymarine side. It is recommended that you check with Yamaha regarding 1) whether the Yamaha Pigtail Cable referenced is correct for your engine and 2) to verify whether the Command Link Hub requires power and termination plugs.
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
08-26-19, 05:28 PM (This post was last modified: 08-27-19 08:09 AM by Chuck - Raymarine - Moderator.)
Post: #7
RE: [CA11] How to get my new Yamaha F70 outboard rpm. etc. engine data to Axiom 9"...
Thanks, Yamaha was really NOT very helpful. They told me to buy 2 caps and 1 BUS main wire and an inline adapter. So, I ended up buying more parts than I needed. What a bummer! will have to return them or resell them now.

The only thing I was missing was a BUS terminator cap (even though there are 2 BUS ports but only 1 cap is needed) for Yamaha Command Link HUB to finish the circuit.

I was able to get engine data after 20 seconds delay. The trim bar started to flash first, and then the battery voltage appeared and then everything else appeared.

I have only 16.6 hours so need to go out boating more before winter gets here. I would buy ECI-100 next time.

http://www.youtube.com/njfishing1 - from Captain Steve
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
08-27-19, 08:09 AM
Post: #8
RE: [CA11] How to get my new Yamaha F70 outboard rpm. etc. engine data to Axiom 9"...
You're welcome.
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)

Contact Us