Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
[CA11] No depth data on Seatalk NG, shows up fine on nmea 2000 connected devices
07-30-19, 09:20 AM (This post was last modified: 08-02-19 10:36 AM by Chuck - Raymarine - Moderator.)
Post: #1
[CA11] No depth data on Seatalk NG, shows up fine on nmea 2000 connected devices
Hi Folks,
I'm finishing an install of i50 instruments (wind, speed/depth tridata, EV-200 AP) all networked together via Seatalk NG, with an ITC-5 handling the depth, speed/temp and wind wand.
There is a spur cable out to a nmea 2k backbone that exchanges info with a Vesper AIS and Garmin plotters.
The issue i'm having is that depth will not transmit through the Seatalk connected devices, but shows up on the Garmin network just fine.
i swapped for a known good depth instrument through the network with no joy. I wired the transducer to the depth directly and connected through the ITC-5, and the instrument would read depth, but the Seatalk network devices all still showed 3 dashes. When wired as intended the ITC-5 shows a green steady LED for the depth transducer. Bypassing the ITC-5 with the transducer connections verifies the transducer working.
I've disconnected the nmea 2000 spur to see if it's a terminator issue with no change as well.
Ideas?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
08-02-19, 10:52 AM
Post: #2
RE: [CA11] No depth data on Seatalk NG, shows up fine on nmea 2000 connected devices
Welcome to the Raymarine Forum Dustdevil,

Please click here to view a FAQ addressing this subject.
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
08-12-19, 01:04 PM
Post: #3
RE: [CA11] No depth data on Seatalk NG, shows up fine on nmea 2000 connected devices
I figured out the issue I was having...The Tridata (and I think any depth/speed/wind etc.) is default set to master in the setup menu. Since i was using an ITC-5, it needed to be set to repeater.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Yesterday, 10:25 AM (This post was last modified: Yesterday 10:26 AM by Chuck - Raymarine - Moderator.)
Post: #4
RE: [CA11] No depth data on Seatalk NG, shows up fine on nmea 2000 connected devices
Dustdevil,

I'm glad to learn that issue has resulted from an incorrect configuration of the i50 Tridata's master/repeater settings. Should the system feature an iTC-5, then the system must additionally include an i70S/i70 MFID. The latter is required to calibrate and configure alarms associated with transducers which have been interfaced to an iTC-5.
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)

Contact Us