Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
[CA11] Upgrading from E-classic to Axiom based System
10-08-19, 09:53 AM (This post was last modified: 10-08-19 10:44 AM by Chuck - Raymarine - Moderator.)
Post: #1
[CA11] Upgrading from E-classic to Axiom based System
Hi, I've assembled a block diagram and intent on power and networking connections for an upgrade of my vessel's systems, from a pair of E120s with analog radar, S3G pilot to a new suite with Axiom plotters, digital radar and EVO pilot.

Can you please review and the questions noted in the PDF and comment as appropriate?

Many thanks to the quality forum and support.


Attached File(s)
.pdf  E-Classic to Axiom Upgrade.pdf (Size: 708.32 KB / Downloads: 11)
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10-08-19, 12:49 PM (This post was last modified: 10-10-19 10:44 AM by Chuck - Raymarine - Moderator.)
Post: #2
RE: [CA11] Upgrading from E-classic to Axiom based System
Steve,

The diagram looks good. Unless you already possess a SR150, please note that they haven't been manufactured in sometime and have been replaced by the SR200.

Q1. Is the feed point for the NG bus reasonably balanced from a LEN standpoint?
A1. The LEN balancing looks good

Q2. Can the Icom M506 deal with multiple GPS sources on the NG bus?
A2. While Raymarine's current generation of products support Data Source Selection for GPS data sources, I can't speak for third party products. This is a question which should be presented to Icom's Support Team.

Q3. Is the RS150 advisable, the AIS will be able to source GPS to the NG bus and is powered full time?
A3. Please note that many AIS transceivers either do not support output of GPS data or output a reduced set of GPS related data items. However, should the third party AIS transceiver output the same NMEA 2000 PGNs produced by the Raystar 150 GPS Sensor (see Appendix A: NMEA 2000 PGN Support of the Raystar 150 Installation Guide.), then the only reason for adding the Raystar 150 GPS Sensor to the system would be for redundancy.

Q4. Is the legacy Seatalk HS switch able to handle all the switching data contemplated?
A4. Yes. However, it is recommended that its RJ45 sockets be inspected for any signs of corrosion / oxidation. If any signs of such are observed, then it should be replaced with a HS5 RayNet Network Switch.

Q5. For convenience of routing less cables, would it be possible to place an HS5 Raynet switch at the flybridge helm and interface the Axiom plotter, AIS and future options like SR150 and IP cameras to that switch, then link that switch to a single port on the legacy Seatalk HS which is at the lower helm currently?
A5. Yes.

Q6. What does Axiom have for an engine page format, are there screen shots of it available?
A6. As far as the page format, pre-configured engine data pages may be found below.

[Image: attachment.php?aid=3658]

[Image: attachment.php?aid=3659]

[Image: attachment.php?aid=3657]

These pre-configured pages are adjusted to the initial settings for number of engines, tanks of each type, batteries, etc.

Q7. The EV-1 will be several meters away from the ITC-5 spur connection, what is the longest run allowed for that spur?
A7. The maximum length permitted for a spur is 6m. If unable to reach with a 6m spur cable, then the backbone will need to be extended to close the distance between one of its spur sockets and the EV-1.

Q8. The lower helm has a lot of powered units, would it be advisable to move the VCM to the upper helm circuit or to the Autopilot circuit?
A8. As long as the circuit can handle the equipment load, there should be no need to relocate the VCM. While technically alright, I don't favor the current circuits for powering equipment. Please click here to view a FAQ addressing this subject.

Q9. Any suggestions to improve system availability when a single unit fails? FYI, we intend to use an iPad at the upper helm to be a repeater for one of the lower Axiom units, hence having dual plotter capability at the upper helm.
A9. See the FAQ referenced within the response to Q8 as well as the GPS redundancy portion of the response to Q3.


Attached File(s) Thumbnail(s)
           
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10-10-19, 09:33 AM (This post was last modified: 10-10-19 10:50 AM by scooper321.)
Post: #3
RE: [CA11] Upgrading from E-classic to Axiom based System
Yes. The m506 manual mentions that when multiple sources for GPS data exist (on the NMEA 2000 bus) you can configure the radio to select which source. I was just reading this the other day...

-Steve

2003 Sea Ray Sundancer 320
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10-10-19, 10:43 AM
Post: #4
RE: [CA11] Upgrading from E-classic to Axiom based System
Noted.
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)

Contact Us