Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
[CA11] Connecting Axiom Pro 12 to Icom VHF
10-08-19, 08:35 PM (This post was last modified: 10-09-19 12:54 PM by Chuck - Raymarine - Moderator.)
Post: #1
[CA11] Connecting Axiom Pro 12 to Icom VHF
Looking to connect Axiom Pro 12 display to Icom M602 VHF, to provide GPS for the VHF's DSC functionality. What kind of cable and adapter (if applicable) do I need?

Thanks!
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10-09-19, 01:23 PM (This post was last modified: 10-10-19 08:02 AM by Chuck - Raymarine - Moderator.)
Post: #2
RE: [CA11] Connecting Axiom Pro 12 to Icom VHF
Welcome to the Raymarine Forum Ed,

Like the Icom M602 VHF radio, the Axiom Pro MFDs feature a NMEA 0183 communications interface. Should the MFD's internal GPS receiver either be automatically or manually assigned as the system's source for GPS data (i.e. no external GPS sensor (Raystar 150, Raystar 130, etc.) has been interfaced to the system, then it would be recommended that
- the NMEA 0183 OUT+ (yellow) lead of the Axiom Pro MFD's Power/NMEA 0183/Video Input Cable be interfaced to the Icom M602 VHF radio's NMEA 0183 IN+ lead/terminal (see page 49 of the Icom M602 VHF Radio Owner's Manual; and
- the NMEA 0183 OUT- (brown) lead of the Axiom Pro MFD's Power/NMEA 0183/Video Input Cable be interfaced to the Icom M602 VHF radio's NMEA 0183 IN- lead/terminal.

If the system has been interfaced to an external GPS sensor, then it would be recommended that an E70196 VHF NMEA 0183 to STng Converter Kit would be recommended for this purpose. Please click here to view a FAQ addressing this subject. This same option may also be used if the MFD's internal GPS receiver is being used as the system's source for GPS data.
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10-09-19, 07:15 PM
Post: #3
RE: [CA11] Connecting Axiom Pro 12 to Icom VHF
thank you - I'll give it a whirl, Ed
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10-10-19, 08:02 AM
Post: #4
RE: [CA11] Connecting Axiom Pro 12 to Icom VHF
You're welcome.
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)

Contact Us