Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
[TG] [TG11] Axiom 9RV 3D Depth
10-31-19, 12:21 PM (This post was last modified: 11-08-19 08:40 AM by Chuck - Raymarine - Moderator.)
[TG11] Axiom 9RV 3D Depth
I have an Axiom 9RV. The realvision 3D depth has a problem finding the bottom when the depth is greater than about 650'. I have a pair of RV-320 20 degree transducers. I was expecting to be able to read to about 1000'.
Is there a way to be able to read the top 300' or so regardless of the actual depth even though the instrument can't find the actual bottom? I would like to be able to find fish in this upper region. also, how would I add a CP370 with a 1KW transducer to be able to read to 500'?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
11-07-19, 01:48 AM (This post was last modified: 11-08-19 08:41 AM by Chuck - Raymarine - Moderator.)
RE: [TG11] Axiom 9RV 3D Depth
Hello donaldreeder,

Quote:The realvision 3D depth has a problem finding the bottom when the depth is greater than about 650'. I have a pair of RV-320 20 degree transducers. I was expecting to be able to read to about 1000'.

Depending on which channel you're using (3D, SideVision, DownVision or Chirp Sonar) you'll get different deep-water results but 650' is pretty reasonable for that transducer type. 900' is the absolute perfect-conditions maximum for the Chirp Sonar channel which gives the best depth performance.

Quote:Is there a way to be able to read the top 300' or so regardless of the actual depth even though the instrument can't find the actual bottom? I would like to be able to find fish in this upper region.

Yes, just go to manual Range (in the menu on the fishfinder page) and range to 300'. You may get an incorrect depth reading if there's something within that range to get a strong echo off - bait, thermocline - but otherwise should work fine.

Quote:how would I add a CP370 with a 1KW transducer to be able to read to 500'?