Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
eS98 and eS127 MFD's - Interrupt Problems?
08-14-17, 03:28 PM
eS98 and eS127 MFD's - Interrupt Problems?
Is there a known problem with conflicts or interrupts when switching on eS MFD and related devices?

I have an eS98 (data master) and an eS127 installed on my boat. I have Navionics and C-Map chart cards. Navionics is normally selected. The Navionics charts are updated to Freshest Data. My instruments are ST60 and my autopilot is ST7002 (I think). There is a SeaTalkNG adaptor in the system. My AIS is a Vesper XB8000.

I recently ran into a problem with getting both eS MFD’s to carry out Navigation Follow Route functions and to display AIS targets. I selected Navigation/Follow Route/Select Route/Follow Forward or Backward. I expected to see the chart with the route displayed. That did not happen. Selecting either Forward or Reverse did not result in anything happening. The screen stayed on the Follow Forward or Backward selection.

In an attempt to fix the problems I deleted all routes and waypoints and re-loaded Lighthouse version 19.03. I also re-synched routes from my iPad (Navionics app) to the eS98. I confirmed with My Data that waypoints and routes were present. The Navigation functions then worked as expected when a route was selected. I switched everything off until the following day. Upon switching on the next day (separate breakers for chartplotters/radar/instruments & autopilot/AIS) I found that once again I could not get the Navigation functions to operate.

After a week of sometimes working and sometimes not I accidently discovered that if I switched on the eS98 (master) and let it completely boot up, then the same with the eS127, then the breakers for radar, autopilot/instruments and AIS one at a time, both MFD’s then worked perfectly.