Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Connecting T-120/T-112 to T122 & ST6001+/S2G
08-21-17, 12:56 PM
Post: #1
Connecting T-120/T-112 to T122 & ST6001+/S2G
I have successfully installed T-120 / T-112 wireless wind instruments, and am getting wind information on the display. I also have the T-122 unit to connect to the existing wired network. My goal is to be able to use the autopilot sailing to either magnetic or apparent wind angle courses.

What do I connect to what? What kind of wire do I need. The T122 is mounted below docks about 6' from the wind display. Thanks.

Wally McMinn
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
08-21-17, 01:37 PM
Post: #2
RE: Connecting T-120/T-112 to T122 & ST6001+/S2G
Wally,

Using an appropriate length of marine grade twisted pair signal cable, the NMEA 0183 Output + and - terminals of the TackTick T122 will be connected to the NMEA 0183 Input + and - terminals respectively.
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
08-21-17, 03:59 PM (This post was last modified: 08-22-17 08:28 AM by Chuck - Raymarine - Moderator.)
Post: #3
RE: Connecting T-120/T-112 to T122 & ST6001+/S2G
Thanks, do I need to connect any power to the T-122, or is that taken care of thru the above two wire connections?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
08-22-17, 08:33 AM (This post was last modified: 08-22-17 08:34 AM by Chuck - Raymarine - Moderator.)
Post: #4
RE: Connecting T-120/T-112 to T122 & ST6001+/S2G
Wally,

Unlike some devices which feature SeaTalkng / NMEA 2000 interfaces and are designed to be powered via their SeaTalkng / NMEA 2000 communications interface, devices are not designed to be powered via their NMEA 0183 communications interface. Accordingly, you will additionally need to interface the T122's Power terminals to a switched 12/24VDC power circuit.
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
08-22-17, 09:41 AM (This post was last modified: 08-22-17 09:47 AM by Chuck - Raymarine - Moderator.)
Post: #5
RE: Connecting T-120/T-112 to T122 & ST6001+/S2G
Is it ok to connect the T122 power inlets to the same 12v inputs that go to the S2G?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
08-22-17, 09:48 AM (This post was last modified: 08-22-17 09:49 AM by Chuck - Raymarine - Moderator.)
Post: #6
RE: Connecting T-120/T-112 to T122 & ST6001+/S2G
Yes.
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)