Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
(DG) i60 Wind vs i70s + iTC-5
04-18-18, 04:13 PM (This post was last modified: 04-19-18 06:32 AM by Derek - Raymarine - Moderator.)
Post: #1
(DG) i60 Wind vs i70s + iTC-5
What are the pros and cons of dedicated i60 wind instrument with wind transducer connected directly to the i60 versus wind display on an i70s with wind transducer connected to iTC-5 ? Will there be any noticeable delay using the latter due to sampling rate of the iTC-5 and multiplexing of data on the STng backbone as compared to having dedicated i60 with wind transducer connected directly to the i60?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
04-19-18, 06:37 AM
Post: #2
RE: (DG) i60 Wind vs i70s + iTC-5
Hi sailM27

Thank you for your enquiry.

The performance will be the same whether you are using the direct connection to the i60 or the itc-5 and i70 combo.

If you are using just a single standalone wind display, then the i60 is the cheapest route, if you have a larger integrated system then the itc-5 route is the way to go.

Another factor to bear in mind is the i60 is a dedicated wind display, whereas the i70 can display multiple data items, the screen can be customised to show the data in whatever format you prefer.

regards
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
04-19-18, 10:39 AM (This post was last modified: 04-20-18 04:53 AM by Derek - Raymarine - Moderator.)
Post: #3
RE: (DG) i60 Wind vs i70s + iTC-5
Thanks for the info.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
04-20-18, 04:54 AM
Post: #4
RE: (DG) i60 Wind vs i70s + iTC-5
Hi sailM27

You're welcome
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
09-30-18, 03:41 PM
Post: #5
RE: (DG) i60 Wind vs i70s + iTC-5
Can the i70s be configured to display the "close hauled" wind display?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10-01-18, 09:20 AM
Post: #6
RE: (DG) i60 Wind vs i70s + iTC-5
Hi tmarks11

Yes, you can customise the display and Close hauled is an option.

Thanks
Derek
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10-01-18, 10:43 AM
Post: #7
RE: (DG) i60 Wind vs i70s + iTC-5
With i60 the data cable and power all need to be routed to the instrument. With iTC5 the data and power go to it located anywhere then a single spur cable to the i70. More flexibility. The i70 can be configured to display multiple screens (pages) and scroll between them. e.g. apparent wind, close hauled, true wind (if speed present), etc.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10-05-18, 08:56 AM
Post: #8
RE: (DG) i60 Wind vs i70s + iTC-5
Buenas tardes necesito orientacion para compra de sensor de bronce + anemometro + AIS + Display Charplotters con Navionics. Es para Velero de madera de 34 pies
Gracias, Daniel
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10-05-18, 11:10 AM
Post: #9
RE: (DG) i60 Wind vs i70s + iTC-5
Hi Daniel,

Please can you advise your location and we will arrange one of our local agents to contact you.
Regards
Derek
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10-30-18, 11:19 AM
Post: #10
RE: (DG) i60 Wind vs i70s + iTC-5
I60 reads “0” for wind speed. Voltages at mast base and ITC5 are within specs. Is the ITC5 the problem? All other analog to digital converted data displays correctly.
Thanks
Bill Bailey
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)

Contact Us