Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
[CA11] eS127 with LH3.9 not seeing DST800
05-08-19, 06:37 AM (This post was last modified: 05-09-19 12:56 PM by Chuck - Raymarine - Moderator.)
Post: #1
[CA11] eS127 with LH3.9 not seeing DST800
Just upgraded my eS127 and eS97 with LH3.9. When I look at Data sources/Depth menu it does not show my DST800 as a data source (which is shown as the data source when I use my I70 displays. A consequence is that I don't have access to a sonar page, which would allow me to specify the position of the transducer relative to the waterline and select the basis of my depth indication (with reference to waterline, keel or transducer).

Is this functionality missing or is it an error - or am I missing something, doing something wrong?

I can change the settings via the I70s in the cockpit but would expect to be able to do that using the eS127 (which is at the nav station)

Thanks

Colin
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-09-19, 01:01 PM
Post: #2
RE: [CA11] eS127 with LH3.9 not seeing DST800
Welcome to the Raymarine Forum Colin,

Q. Is this functionality missing or is it an error - or am I missing something, doing something wrong?
A. The operation which you have described is indeed correct. Should the system feature a Smart DST800 or an analog instrument depth transducer which has been interfaced to an iTC-5, then Depth alarms and offsets must be configured via the i70/i70S MFD. The depth alarm and offset found within the MFD are designed for use with fishfinder transducers which have either been interfaced to a fishfnder sounder module or to the fishfinder transducer socket of one of the system's MFDs.
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
06-24-19, 10:04 AM (This post was last modified: 06-24-19 10:41 AM by Chuck - Raymarine - Moderator.)
Post: #3
RE: [CA11] eS127 with LH3.9 not seeing DST800
Thanks Chuck, I'm also not getting any temp readout from the DST (the eS127 with LH3 lists it as a DST200 but it's in fact a DST800) - either in the eS127 or my i70 displays, which I did do with LH2. Any advice?

Colin
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
06-24-19, 10:46 AM
Post: #4
RE: [CA11] eS127 with LH3.9 not seeing DST800
Colin,

Please respond with a photo of the transducer's identification tag affixed to the plug end of the transducer's cable. Please additionally respond with information concerning whether the value reported for the Water Temperature data item is -.- or has a value specified.
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
06-25-19, 08:29 AM (This post was last modified: 06-25-19 08:56 AM by Chuck - Raymarine - Moderator.)
Post: #5
RE: [CA11] eS127 with LH3.9 not seeing DST800
Here's the information you requested.

Thanks, Colin


Attached File(s) Thumbnail(s)
       
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
06-25-19, 12:13 PM (This post was last modified: 06-25-19 12:14 PM by Chuck - Raymarine - Moderator.)
Post: #6
RE: [CA11] eS127 with LH3.9 not seeing DST800
Colin,

First, I have verified a flaw within the diagnostics of LightHouse 3 software in that it incorrectly identifies the DST800 as a DST200. This problem is not mirrored in the diagnostics of other devices which have been interfaced to the backbone (i.e. i70 MFID and p70 autopilot control head). A problem report will be logged to seek correction of this problem within a future LH3 software update. That said, my bench system is populating the water temperature data item from data supplied by a Smart DST800.

As indicated within my initial response, MFDs are exclusively designed to support configuration of depth offsets and depth alarms associated with fishfinder transducers which have been interfaced to the system's fishfinding products. Depth offsets and alarms associated with analog instrument transducers must be configured by the depth instruments which they have been directly connected to or via an i70S/i70 MFID if the analog transducer has been interfaced to an iTC-5. Depth offsets and alarms associated with Smart Raymarine instrument transducers must be configured by an i70S/i70 MFID.

When the Transducers Set-up feature of the i70S/i70 is executed and the DST800 is selected, is a temperature value listed when the menu is scroll to view the option permitting the temperature value to be adjusted?
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
06-27-19, 08:23 AM (This post was last modified: 06-27-19 09:01 AM by Chuck - Raymarine - Moderator.)
Post: #7
RE: [CA11] eS127 with LH3.9 not seeing DST800
Chuck,
I have used the Transducer Set-up on both my i70s with the same result. See attached photos: It detects a transducer and identifies it as a DST800 with the correct serial number. When I press INFO it then lists it as a DST 200. When I use the temperature setting option it ask me to adjust to the current sea temperature. It shows a scrolling function with the start temperature at -273.2C (absolute zero!). I then start to scroll up but it stopped the first couple of times at -263.2C and subsequently only moved to -273.1C and stuck there.

Seems a little strange to say the least ;-)

Colin


Attached File(s) Thumbnail(s)
           
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
06-27-19, 09:05 AM
Post: #8
RE: [CA11] eS127 with LH3.9 not seeing DST800
Colin,

The symptom reported within your latest response is indicative of a failed temperature thermistor within the DST800's removable depth/speed/temp insert. Temperature adjustment is limited to +/-9.9 degrees. It is recommended that the DST800's insert be removed and sent to Raymarine’s Product Repair Center to be bench checked / replaced if still under warranty. If not, then it would be recommended that the DST800's insert be replaced. Those seeking replacement transducer parts these instrument transducers are recommended to contact Gemeco, Inc. (Airmar’s US distributor (803 693 0777)).
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
06-27-19, 09:11 AM (This post was last modified: 06-27-19 09:38 AM by Chuck - Raymarine - Moderator.)
Post: #9
RE: [CA11] eS127 with LH3.9 not seeing DST800
Chuck,
Thanks very much for your help. I’ll follow that up - the unit is out of warranty.

Best wishes

Colin
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
06-27-19, 09:38 AM
Post: #10
RE: [CA11] eS127 with LH3.9 not seeing DST800
You're welcome.
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)

Contact Us