Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
[CA11] Axiom Pro Settings; NMEA 38,400 or 4800?
06-16-19, 03:38 PM (This post was last modified: 06-18-19 03:53 PM by Chuck - Raymarine - Moderator.)
Post: #1
[CA11] Axiom Pro Settings; NMEA 38,400 or 4800?
Axiom Pro with AIS 700, autopilot, 6' open array, cp570, is it best to have;
NMEA Port 1 to nmea 4800?
NMEA input Port 2 to AIS 38400?
Manual not really clear.
Also,bridge heading, should that be on or off?
Transmission mode single ended or differential?


Attached File(s) Thumbnail(s)
   
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
06-18-19, 03:56 PM (This post was last modified: 06-18-19 03:58 PM by Chuck - Raymarine - Moderator.)
Post: #2
RE: [CA11] Axiom Pro Settings; NMEA 38,400 or 4800?
Welcome back to the Raymarine Forum Fish On,

The setting to be used for the MFD's NMEA 0183 Port 1 and Port 2 settings will be determined by the NMEA 0183 communications BAUD rate of the NMEA 0183 device(s) which you intend to interface to these ports. Should you provide the makes/models of such devices, then it may be possible to specify which setting to use and which setting to use. The same applies to the Transmission Mode setting. The AIS700 would typically be interfaced to the MFD via NMEA 2000 rather than NMEA 0183 communications.
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
06-19-19, 07:44 AM (This post was last modified: 06-19-19 08:16 AM by Chuck - Raymarine - Moderator.)
Post: #3
RE: [CA11] Axiom Pro Settings; NMEA 38,400 or 4800?
Chuck,
Here's my list;
2; Axiom Pro 16's Rvx1000
CP570 box.
Raymarine R109lh 2kw transducer.
Rv212 Transducers
12kw with 6' open array radar.
Evolution acu 400 autopilot with type 2 pump/p70r.
AIS 700
Waiting on Sirius weather sr200; (back ordered).
All was installed by Raymarine certified installation company.
Thanks again!!!
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
06-19-19, 08:29 AM
Post: #4
RE: [CA11] Axiom Pro Settings; NMEA 38,400 or 4800?
Fish On,

With the possible exception of the of the AIS700, none of the items which you have listed would be interfaced to the MFD's NMEA 0183 ports. As the system features a powered and properly terminated SeaTalkng / NMEA 2000 backbone, it is quite likely that the AIS700 has been interfaced as a spur to this backbone. This may be verified by switching ON all equipment and then commanding the Data Master MFD to display its Product Info diagnostic feature (HOME->SETTINGS->NETWORK->DIAGNOSTICS->PRODUCT INFO). If the AIS700 has been interfaced to the SeaTalkng / NMEA 2000 backbone, then the AIS700 will be listed. If not, then the AIS700 has likely been interfaced to one of the MFD's NMEA 0183 ports and that port must be configured to AIS 38400 and the Transmission mode should be configured to Differential.
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
06-19-19, 11:01 AM (This post was last modified: 06-19-19 02:38 PM by Chuck - Raymarine - Moderator.)
Post: #5
RE: [CA11] Axiom Pro Settings; NMEA 38,400 or 4800?
OK yes, I do have RAXA80007 Raymarine HS5 Raynet Network Switch A80007. Should the bridge heading be on or off??
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
06-19-19, 02:40 PM
Post: #6
RE: [CA11] Axiom Pro Settings; NMEA 38,400 or 4800?
Fish On,

The Raymarine HS5 Raynet Network Switch has no bearing on the configuration settings of the MFD. The system has not been interfaced to a NMEA 0183 source of heading data ... the Bridge NMEA Heading setting should remain OFF.
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)